Road Roller Association AGM Weekend 2014 - 40th Anniversary

The 2014 AGM, the Associations 40th Anniversary, was held on Saturday 1st March 2014 in Halifax, the birth place of the Association. As usual a full weekend of activities had been arranged for Members. The centre of the AGM activities was the White Swan Hotel, Princess Street, Halifax, HX1 1TS.

On the Friday afternoon a vist had been arranged to the Town Hall, just over the road from the Hotel. Dating from 1863 the Town Hall is very original, and must be one of the best preserved Town Halls still in use for its original purpose. The Mayor's Secretary gave us a guided Tour and described the history of the Town Hall, originally used by Halifax Town Council and now used by Calderdale District Council.

2014 TH - 1

Town Hall Image 1.

2014 TH - 2

Town Hall Image 2.

2014 TH - 3

Town Hall Image 3.

2014 TH - 4

Town Hall Image 4.

On the Sauturday morning a visit was made to a one of the quarries belonging to Marshalls, a local quarrying firm.

Following a buffet lunch the AGM was held in the Grand Ballroom of the White Swan Hotel. To celebrate our 40th Anniversary we were welcomed to Calderdale by the Deputy Mayor and her Consort, Councillor Lisa and Mr. Len Lambert. The Deputy Mayor then cut a 40th anniversary cake.

2014 AGM - 1

The ceremonial cutting of the 40th Anniversary cake.

2014 AGM - 2

The Deputy Mayor with 3 of the people at the inaugral meeting, our Founder Lyndon Shearman and his wife Barbara, and our Editor, Alan Porter.

The normal business of the Association was the carried out. During the meeting, as part of the report for the Pudsey Roller Restoration Fund, The Friends of the Pudsey Roller presented a cheque for 12,500 to the Association for the Pudsey Roller Resoration Fund.

2014 AGM - 3

Presenation of cheque from The Friends of the Pudsey Roller to the Pudsey Roller Resoration Fund.

The Associations Trophies were then presented, as follows :-

2014 AGM - 4

The Road Roller Association Trophy was awarded to Martin Oliver of GDSF, and accepted on his behalf by Paul Wood.

2014 AGM - 5

The Driving Trpohy was awarded to The Bramley and District Steam Rolling Co. (John and Dorothy Knapton and Eric Robinson), and accepted by Dorothy Knapton.

2014 AGM - 6

The Armstrong Whitworth Trophy was awarded to Andrew Eyre.

The Walton Hall Trophy was not awarded this year, as the recipient from last year had only recently received the trophy and it was felt that he should be able to keep it for at least a year!

2014 AGM - 7

The Rolling Trophy for the best article in Rolling over the last year, voted by those present at the AGM, was awarded to Derek Rayner.

2014 AGM - 8

2014 AGM - 9

A special presentation, or a large oilcan, was then made to our Founder, Lyndon Shearman, for 40 years service to the Association.

The new Committee was then elected, please see the Committee link on the navigation bar for list of the new Committee.

On the Sunday morning a visit was to the Calderdale Industrial Museum, where Lyndon Shearman gave a guided tour.

2014 CIM - 1

2014 CIM - 2

2014 CIM - 3

On the Sunday afternoon a visit was made to the private collection of Peter Rigg near Todnorden.

2014 PR- 1

2014 PR - 2

2014 PR - 3

The Committee would like to thanks all those who made the weekend such a success.